Question by  bprobertson (10)

Where are the seven deadly sins in the Bible?

Who designated them as the seven deadly sins?


Answer by  Student123 (45)

The seven deadly sins are Envy (coveting others' things), Sloth (laziness), Lust (physical desire), Greed(desire for more money), Wrath (unjustified or overblown anger), Vanity (narcissism), and Gluttony (overindulgence in food or other items). One of the Popes of the Roman Catholic Religion designated these sins based off of biblical verses.


Answer by  goaway2423 (6)

A 4th century Greek monk, Evagrius Ponticus, had the original idea of the 7 deadly sins that he called the 8 evil thoughts. However, they were revised by Pope Gregory I in 590 AD. The 7 deadly sins are gluttony, lust, greed, sloth or despair/ discouragement, wrath, envy, and pride.


Answer by  thewerewolfmage (520)

In the Bible, the Lord states that there are six things he hates and the seventh he detests. They are a proud look, the liar's tongue, shedding an innocent's blood, a wicked heart, the feet of the mischievous, a witness of lies, and someone who creates discord among his brethren. The Cardinal church was the one to decide the sins.


Answer by  timetravel (114)

Pope St. Gregory the Great and St. John Cassian are believed to be two who designated them as deadly sins; they are pride, greed, envy, anger, lust, gluttony, and sloth.

You have 50 words left!