Question by  anne (336)

In chess, can the king take another piece?


Answer by  YellowCar (87)

Yes, it is affirmative that in the game of chess, the king is permitted to take another piece. The King's movements are omnidirectional but limited to one space in any direction. If another piece is in the vicinity, take it if it's a good move.


Answer by  DanielleK (535)

Yes, the king can take another piece so long as it doesn't place the king in check. For example, if a pawn was moved so the king was in check and there was no other piece guarding that pawn, the king can take the piece, thus negating the check.


Answer by  etcetera (26)

In chess, the king can take another piece. Since the king can move in any direction onto any a any adjacent square (not occupied by another piece of the king's color), he can take any piece adjacent to him-- but only if it does not move him into check.


Answer by  filminfo (20)

In chess, every piece can take another piece, providing that they stick to the rules of moves the piece can make. The king can move 1 place in all available directions, and can take another piece if it is in the adjacent square. After taking a piece, the king may not be in a position to be 'taken' himself.


Answer by  John (9008)

There are no restrictions on the king taking another piece in chess. It is somewhat unusual to see it happen, since it involves putting the king at risk, but it is not against the rules. A king can only move one space in any direction; thus, in order to take another piece, that piece must be right next to it.

You have 50 words left!